Laupus Library recognizes 119 health sciences authors

Faculty and staff from across East Carolina University’s Division of Health Sciences gathered in an annual celebration of research and scholarship Nov. 8 at the William E. Laupus Health Sciences Library’s 13th annual Health Sciences Author Recognition Awards.

The event was held at The Martinsborough at the Jefferson Blount Harvey Building and was sponsored by the Friends of Laupus Library.

Brody School of Medicine Alumnus and Chair of the Friends of Laupus Library, Dr. John Papalas speaks about the importance of the Friends to Laupus Library and the Division of Health Sciences at ECU.

“Part of the joy in being a librarian in the health sciences is supporting and partnering with the talented faculty and researchers in our health professions schools and colleges,” Laupus Library Director Beth Ketterman said. “Laupus Library is in the unique position to contribute to the success of each author in this room, whether through our leadership in providing the highest quality health information, or through our services and support throughout the research lifecycle.”

This year, 119 authors published 329 qualified peer-reviewed publications including journal articles, book chapters and other creative works between July 1, 2017 and June 30, 2018. Six books were also published by five authors.

Former Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences Dr. Phyllis Horns presented book authors with a Laupus Bronze medallion cast to commemorate the life of William E. Laupus, the first dean of the School of Medicine and first vice chancellor for health sciences at ECU. The medallion is awarded to acknowledge and thank special friends whose generosity and support helped build the library’s collections and programs and making its services more readily available to the citizens of North Carolina.

Dr. Greg Kearney, associate professor in the department of public health was one of 50 authors recognized from the Brody School of Medicine.

“It is great to be able to celebrate all our authors, and I think the occasion is particularly important and especially appropriate for us to offer special recognition for our book authors,” Horns said. “What we are doing here in the division will continue to be a tradition.”

Authors from the Brody School of Medicine, College of Nursing, College of Allied Health Sciences, Laupus Library, School of Dental Medicine and the College of Health and Human Performance were recognized by name and school or college on a ceremonial display, now available for viewing on the second floor of Laupus Library.

“I was very impressed with the event and the recognition that was given to the faculty and staff authors,” said Denise Donica, associate professor and interim chair of the department of occupational therapy for the College of Allied Health Sciences. “I made it my personal goal to qualify to attend the event every year and have worked really hard to do so. I really appreciate all that Laupus Library and the Friends of Laupus Library do to support not only the College of Allied Health Sciences but the Division of Health Sciences.”

“The faculty and staff in the health disciplines have once again demonstrated a commitment to expanding the scholarly culture of ECU,” Ketterman said. “Their impressive scope of research and publishing in the last year contribute to the scholarly record of their fields and grow the reputation of the university.”

Registration for the 2018-19 author awards will begin in February. More information about the annual awards ceremony – including a complete listing of this year’s published authors – is available online at